Driver's License

Services at the Treasurer's Office

  • Kansas driver's license renewals
  • Issuance and renewal of ID cards
  • Issuance of duplicate Kansas licenses
  • Making address changes
The Treasurer's Office does not issue CDLs or conceal carry licenses. Tests and test booklets are available upon request. An additional fee of $2 per transaction is charged at the Treasurer's office. 

Renewing Driver's License

To renew a Kansas driver’s license you must provide a current driver's license and proof of Kansas residency no older than two months old. If you do not have the expiring driver's license, you must provide two proofs of identity. 

If you want to upgrade to the new Real ID please read about it under "Real ID Information"

Real ID Information
Starting August 1, 2017 the State of Kansas began issuing Real ID Compliant credentials.
In 2005, the U.S. Congress passed the "Real-ID Act" which establishes minimum security standards for state-issued driver's licenses and identification cards, and prohibits Federal Agencies from accepting identification cards from states that do not meet these standards.

The new Real-ID /DL credentials will have a "Gold Star" printed on them and the Non-Real ID credentials will specify "Not For Federal ID".

The new Real ID goes into effect October 1, 2020 every person over 18 who travels by air or goes into federal buildings will need this designation on their license. If it is not designated they will be unable to board an airplane or enter federal facilities.

In order to obtain a State issued Real-ID, the applicant needs to provide.

-Proof of Social Security (i.e. unlaminated SSN Card, current W-2, Current 1099, Current paystub with applicants name and SSN).

-Applicant will also need to provide a certified birth certificate or current U.S. passport. 

-Proof of name change if it does not match birth certificate (i.e. certified marriage license, divorce decree, court order of adoption, or court order of legal name change).

-Proof of current address (i.e. utility bill, bank statement, hospital invoice).


Driver's License & ID Fee Schedule

Driver's licenses expire every 4-6 years, view the Fees for Licenses and IDs.