Local Emergency Planning Committee

Dickinson County


(Local Emergency Planning Committee)

The LEPC is a product of federal legislation passed in the wake of the Bhopal disaster in India, where thousands of people died because of an accident involving the release of hazardous chemicals. 

 To prevent similar occurrences in our communities, Congress passed the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA, also known as Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) in 1986.

EPCRA establishes hazardous materials guidelines for business and reporting requirements enabling communities to better plan their emergency response to potential hazardous incidents. Hazardous material locations pose one risk category, transporting hazardous materials on our major roads, such as US 81 and K-18 in Ottawa County, potential major storms, pandemics, and terrorism add to the spectrum of LEPC planning topics.

A LEPC (local emergency planning committee) is a gathering of representatives in your community that have an interest in hazardous materials safety. Members should include; fire department, law enforcement, health care, media, schools, industry, transportation, public health, VOAD and others.

As a group they will identify potential risks that your community faces from hazardous chemicals stored in and/or transported around your community. The LEPC should seek ways to help minimize the risks, prevent accidents, and assist in the development of plans to deal with a chemical emergency.

The LEPC should also participate in the development of training programs, exercises and public awareness outreach. Our LEPC meets once a year at the Dickinson County Courthouse, 109 East 1st St suite 105, Abilene Kansas. The meetings are open to the public and all interested parties are encouraged to attend.



 The Dickinson County LEPC current membership includes the following representatives:

Chairperson: Paul Froelich

Vice-Chairperson: Randy Paden


John Hultgren – Dickinson County Health Dept

Carol Ross- Abilene Memorial Hospital

Martin Tannhill - Transportation

 Derrick Norrick – HHW/ Landfill

Greg Stuber - Local Environmental Group

Jerry Davis - Law Enforcement / Elected Official 

Chancy Smith- Emergency Management

Kathy Hagaman- Media

Rick Horn- KDEM

American Red Cross - VOAD







Section 324 of the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act, also known as SARA Title III (Superfund Amendments and Re-authorization Act of 1986, PL 99-499) requires public notice at least once annually informing the public of the means to access information about extremely hazardous substances that are manufactured, stored, and used within their community. Follow-up emergency notices may subsequently be issued.  Accordingly, information concerning LEPC meetings, SARA Title III hazardous

materials planning which is included in our Dickinson County Emergency Operations Response Plan, materials safety data sheets (MSDS), hazardous chemical inventory forms, listing extremely hazardous substances manufactured, stored, or used within Dickinson County can be reviewed during normal business hours by contacting Chancy Smith at the Dickinson County Courthouse, 109 East 1sr St Ste 105 Abilene KS 67410. during normal business hours.   785-263-3608 or by email at csmith@dkcoks.gov